
STATE REGISTRATION IS 
REQUIRED FOR BUSINESSES 
THAT CONDUCT REPAIRS ON 
APPLIANCES AND 
ELECTRONICS 
Appliance Repair: Washers, 
dryers, refrigerators, freezers, 
ranges, microwave ovens, 
dishwashers, trash 
compactors, and
room air conditioners.
Electronic Repair: 
Smartphones, tablets, personal
computers, televisions, radios and stereos, video 
cameras, gaming consoles, photocopiers, fax
machines, car stereo and alarm installations, 
ignition interlock device installations, and home
satellite system installs. If you have a Contractors
State Licensing Board license for satellite systems, 
you’re not required to have the Electronic Repair 
(Electronic Service Dealer) registration as well for 
these types of installs. The Bureau of Automotive 
Repair (BAR) covers ignition interlock devices,
having dual authority as well; therefore, if you have 
a BAR license, you are not required to have the 
Bureau’s registration for the interlock equipment 
installs. 
Subcontractors: Individuals acting in an
independent subcontractor capacity in
appliance or electronic repairs who are hired 
by a licensed company are required to 
have a registration as well. If you 
are a separate company or an 
individual operating a
repair business who 
is not an employee
of that company, 
registration is 
required.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 
California Department of Consumer Affairs 

(800) 952-5210
www.dca.ca.gov and www.dca.ca.gov/licensee/ 

State Board of Equalization 
(800) 400-7115

www.boe.ca.gov 

California Mattress Stewardship Program—
Used Mattress Recovery and Recycling 

(855) 229-1691
www.mattressrecyclingcouncil.org 

Join us on Facebook

STATE 
LICENSING 
REQUIREMENTS 

4244 South Market Court, Suite D
Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: (916) 999-2041

E-mail: HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
www.bearhfti.ca.gov
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IT’S THE LAW! 
Businesses are required to have a valid 
license/registration BEFORE they operate. 
State Inspectors and Representatives conduct 
investigations of businesses, and if a business 
is discovered to be operating without a license/
registration, fines and citations may be issued 
for violations specified under the Business and 
Professions Code. 
Fines/citations for being out of compliance range 
from $250 to $2,500, and/or by imprisonment for 

 

STATE LICENSING IS REQUIRED 
BEFORE YOU CAN OPERATE 
THE FOLLOWING BUSINESSES: 
Furniture Retailer—A store operation selling 
upholstered furniture. 
Bedding Retailer—A store operation selling 
bedding products (includes pillows, mattresses, 
quilts, comforters, and sleeping bags). 
Furniture and Bedding Retailer—A store 
operation selling both upholstered furniture 
and bedding products. 
Custom Upholsterer—Repairs, reupholsters, 
re-covers, renews upholstered furniture, or who 
makes to order and specification of the user any 
article of upholstered furniture, using either new 
materials or the owner’s materials. 
Furniture and Bedding Manufacturer—A 
company that produces upholstered furniture or 
bedding in whole or in part, or who uses new or
secondhand materials to upholster any product. 

Supply Dealer—A company that manufacturers, 
processes or sells any felt, batting, pads, woven 
or plastic fabrics, or loose material in bags or
containers, concealed or not concealed, to be 
used or that could be used in articles of 
upholstered furniture or bedding. 
Wholesaler—A company that sells any article of
upholstered furniture or bedding or filling materials 
to another for the purpose of resale, but shall 
not include an affiliate or subsidiary where the 
ownership and name are identical, and that is 
the exclusive sales outlet of a manufacturer. 
Importer—A person who manufactures or 
wholesales, through employees or agents, any 
articles of upholstered furniture, bedding, or filling 
material manufactured outside of the United States 
for the purpose of sale or resale in California. 

Sanitizer—A person who sanitizes bedding or
filling materials for resale purposes. If you hold 
a Manufacturer, Bedding or Furniture Retailer, 
or Custom Upholsterer’s license, you do not 
need a separate license as a sanitizer. 

not less than three and not more than six months. 

BUSINESS REGISTRATION 
AND LICENSING INFORMATION 
Department of Consumer Affairs, BEARHFTI
4244 South Market Court, Suite D 
Sacramento, CA 95834-1243 
Contact us: (916) 999-2041 or by e-mail at
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov. 
You may download and print the State application
by visiting our website: www.bhfti.ca.gov 
After submitting an application, it will be reviewed 
by the Bureau and if there are no grounds for 
denial, a license/registration will be issued within 
four to six weeks. 

http:www.bhfti.ca.gov
mailto:HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
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